Prof. Dr. Mojib Latif is better known than many a politician. While scientists like him do not seek out the spotlight, interviews for newspapers, the radio and television, or presentations to politicians, or talks to schoolchildren are part of his daily routine. He is especially fond of speaking in front of young children because, as he says, they bring out the performer in him!

At the same time, Mojib Latif is a lecturer and researcher at the GEOMAR Institute. He runs climate simulations and analyses measurements in his quest for a better understanding of climate fluctuations and how humans influence them. In the past twenty years, there have been over 120 scientific articles in which Latif’s name appears in the list of authors. Moreover, he has written several books in which he explains the complexities of the climate system and future scenarios for it in terms that everyone can understand.

GEOMAR’s director Peter Herzig, prizewinner Mojib Latif, Till Keulen of Deutsche Bank, and guest speaker Johannes B. Kerner (left to right). Photograph: A. Villwock, GEOMAR

In recognition of his outstanding achievements in climate research and in communicating science to the general public, Prof. Dr. Mojib Latif was awarded the ‘Deutscher Meerespreis’ in 2009. The presentation was held on 27 March 2009 at the GEOMAR Institute in Kiel. In Mojib Latif, the GEOMAR Institute possessed a gem, according to its director Peter Herzig. “With his achievements as a scientist as well as his dedication to wider causes, he is one of the world’s pre-eminent figures in climate research. We in Kiel can be very proud of that”, he said. According to Deutsche Bank’s Till Keulen, Mojib Latif’s extraordinary commitment to science and society explained his choice as prizewinner.

Johannes B. Kerner in conversation with the prizewinner. Photograph: J. Steffen, GEOMAR

In his laudatory address, the well-known television presenter Johannes B. Kerner said Mojib Latif was dedicated to and passionate about communicating the facts relating to human-induced climate change. “I have rarely come across anyone who has been able to explain to me so clearly the complexities of climate change with such a combination of enthusiasm and determination. He does not merely present the facts; he also urges people to take concrete action”, according to Kerner, on whose shows Mojib Latif has been a frequent guest.

About the German Ocean Award | Legal Disclaimer and Contact

Prof. Dr. Mojib Latif ist bekannter als so mancher Politiker. Obwohl Naturwissenschaftler wie er die Öffentlichkeit nicht suchen, gehören Interviews für Presse, Funk und Fernsehen oder Vorträge vor Politikern wie auch Schulklassen zu seinem Alltag. Besonders liebt er „Kinder-Unis“ für die ganz Kleinen, bei denen nach seinen Worten „Performance“ gefragt ist.

Parallel dazu lehrt und forscht Mojib Latif am GEOMAR. Er führt Klimasimulationen durch und analysiert Messungen, um das ewige Auf und Ab des Klimas und den Einfluss des Menschen besser zu verstehen. Mehr als 120 wissenschaftliche Publikationen sind es in den letzten 20 Jahren geworden, bei denen der Name Mojib Latif in der Autorenliste steht. Dazu kommen mehrere Bücher, in denen er die komplexen Zusammenhänge unseres Klimasystems und zukünftige Szenarien für Jedermann verständlich erklärt.



Das Bild zeigt (v.l.n.r.) GEOMAR-Direktor Peter Herzig, Preisträger Mojib Latif, Till Keulen von der Deutschen Bank sowie Laudator Johannes B. Kerner. Foto: A. Villwock, GEOMAR

Für seine herausragenden Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Klimaforschung und die Vermittlung wissenschaftlicher Inhalte in der breiten Öffentlichkeit wurde Prof. Dr. Mojib Latif der Deutsche Meerespreis 2009 verliehen. Die Verleihung fand am 27. März 2009 am Kieler GEOMAR statt. „Mit Mojib Latif haben wir ein Juwel im Institut. Mit seinen wissenschaftlichen Leistungen wie auch mit seinem darüber hinaus gehenden Engagement ist er eine der herausragenden Persönlichkeiten der Klimaforschung weltweit. Darauf können wir hier Kiel sehr stolz sein.“ sagte GEOMAR-Direktor Peter Herzig. Dieses außerordentliche Engagement für Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft sei auch der Grund gewesen, Mojib Latif als Preisträger auszuwählen, so Till Keulen von der Geschäftsleitung der Deutschen Bank.



Johannes B. Kerner im Gespräch mit dem Preisträger. Foto: J. Steffen, GEOMAR

Die Vermittlung des Wissens um die vom Menschen verursachte Klimaerwärmung betreibe er mit Hingabe und Leidenschaft, so der bekannte Fernsehmoderator Johannes B. Kerner in seiner Laudatio. „Ich habe selten einen Menschen erlebt, der mir das komplexe Thema Klimaänderung mit einer Mischung von Begeisterung und Hartnäckigkeit so deutlich gemacht hat. Dabei bleibt er nicht bei der Vermittlung der Fakten stehen, sondern fordert auch sehr konkret zum Handeln auf“ so Kerner, in dessen Sendungen Mojib Latif schon mehrfach zu Gast war.

   
    Mehr zur Preisverleihung unter www.geomar.de
   
   
   
Über den Deutschen Meerespreis | Impressum und Kontakt