September 2011: fascinated, Ranga Yogeshwar gazes out of the large forward viewport of GEOMAR’s submersible Jago, 200 metres below the surface of Trondheim Fjord. In front of the science journalist lies a new world of cold-water corals, their delicate red and white filigree coral colonies gleaming in the submersible’s headlights. The impressions gained during this dive were later presented in Quarks & Co., Yogeshwar’s science programme on German television.

In his TV programmes, which also include Die große Show der Naturwunder, the physicist and science journalist examines questions of science from various – and occasionally unusual – angles, and helps the general public to grasp their complexities.

Christian Maaß of Deutsche Bank, GEOMAR’s director Prof. Peter Herzig, Ranga Yogeshwar, Prof. Mojib Latif, and presenter Annika de Buhr (left to right). Photograph: J. Steffen, GEOMAR

Ranga Yogeshwar was awarded the ‘Deutscher Meerespreis’ in 2013 in recognition of his achievements in science communication. The presentation was held on 21 May 2013 at the GEOMAR Institute in Kiel. “Ranga Yogeshwar has an unusual gift: on the one hand, as a physicist he has the ability to grasp complex issues; on the other hand, unlike many scientists he is able to explain them using simple terms and examples”, according to GEOMAR’s director Professor Peter Herzig. Speaking on behalf of Deutsche Bank, Thorsten Frahm, who is in charge of the bank’s business clients in Hamburg and Schleswig-Holstein, paid tribute to the prizewinner: “Ranga Yogeshwar knows how to fill his audience - and many young people in particular - with enthusiasm for the fascinating world of science. With his impressive skills as a communicator and his personal commitment, time and again he makes us aware of just how valuable the oceans are – and just how much at risk they are.”

Ranga Yogeshwar and Mojib Latif. Photograph: J. Steffen, GEOMAR

In his laudatory address, the renowned climate researcher Professor Mojib Latif stressed Yogeshwar’s efforts to draw attention to the consequences of environmental changes in the world’s oceans - Earth’s largest ecosystem - and to do so intelligibly and with a sense of urgency, while always remaining rigorous in his scientific reasoning.

    More at    
About the German Ocean Award | Legal Disclaimer and Contact

September 2011, Fjord vor Trondheim, 200 Meter Tiefe. Fasziniert blickt Ranga Yogeshwar aus dem großen Frontfenster des Tauchbootes JAGO. Vor ihm liegt die für ihn bisher unbekannte Welt der Kaltwasserkorallen. Filigrane Korallenstöcke von weiß bis rot erstrahlen im Scheinwerferlicht des Unterwasserfahrzeugs des GEOMAR. Die Eindrücke, die er auf seinem Tauchgang sammeln konnte, präsentierte Ranga Yogeshwar in seiner Fernsehsendung „Quarks & Co“.

In seinen Fernsehbeiträgen, zu denen auch „Die große Show der Naturwunder“ gehört, beleuchtet der Physiker und Wissenschaftsjournalist naturwissenschaftliche Themen aus verschiedensten, teils ungewöhnlichen Blickwinkeln und vermittelt die zum Teil komplexen Zusammenhänge einem breiten Publikum auf verständliche Weise.



Christian Maaß von der Deutschen Bank (li.), GEOMAR-Direktor Prof. Peter Herzig (2.v.l.), Prof. Mojib Latif (2. v. re.) und Moderatorin Annika de Buhr gratulieren dem Preisträger Ranga Yogeshwar. Foto: J. Steffen, GEOMAR

In Anerkennung seiner Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Wissenschaftskommunikation erhielt Ranga Yogeshwar den Deutschen Meerespreis 2013. Die Verleihung fand am 21.Mai 2013 am Kieler GEOMAR statt. „Ranga Yogeshwar hat eine ungewöhnliche Gabe. Als Physiker bringt er zum einen die Fähigkeit mit, komplexe Sachverhalte zu verstehen. Zum anderen ist er, anders als viele Wissenschaftler, in der Lage, diese mit einfachen Worten und Beispielen zu erklären“, sagte Professor Peter Herzig, Direktor des GEOMAR. Für die Deutsche Bank würdigte Thorsten Frahm, verantwortlich für die Geschäftskunden der Deutschen Bank in Hamburg und Schleswig-Holstein, den Preisträger. „Ranga Yogeshwar begeistert gerade auch viele junge Menschen für die spannende Welt der Wissenschaft. Mit seinem beeindruckenden kommunikativen Talent und persönlichen Engagement führt er uns immer wieder vor Augen, wie wertvoll und gleichzeitig gefährdet die Meere sind.



Ranga Yogeshwar und Mojib Latif. Foto: J. Steffen, GEOMAR

Der bekannte Klimaforscher Professor Mojib Latif hob in seiner Laudatio Yogeshwars Bestreben hervor, immer wieder eindringlich und gleichzeitig verständlich, aber stets exakt in der wissenschaftlichen Beweisführung, auf die Folgen von Umweltveränderungen im größten Ökosystem der Erde, dem Meer, hinzuweisen. „Das ist äußerst schwierig, aber von elementarer Bedeutung, denn wir müssen diesen Planeten auch für künftige Generationen in einem lebenswerten Zustand erhalten“, sagte Professor Latif.

   
    Mehr zur Preisverleihung unter www.geomar.de    
   
   
Über den Deutschen Meerespreis | Impressum und Kontakt